*Disclaimer: I’m fine. We’re fine. Everything is fine.

The best thing I can say about today is that nothing so terrible happened that makes it in any way memorable. Conversely, nothing really good happened either. Just another dateless, eventless, regular everyday bullshit kind of day.

The problem I’m finding isn’t the nature of the day I had, but rather my expectations for and perceptions of said day. My attempts to grasp and cling to more than my fair share of security, praise, gain. My desperation to avoid being uncomfortable, insecure, in transition. Not wanting to feel loss or suffering.

I really need to stop asking other people how their day was. Likewise, I need to stop answering that question with “good” or “bad” followed by a litany of boasts or complaints. The day was the day it was…end of story. Why get caught up in the vicious cycle of judging a day as “good” or “bad” based on my fickle quest for satisfaction? The better question is how did I respond to the day I was presented with? What did I do to lessen the suffering for myself and others?

Today I am getting off the good day/bad day rollercoaster!

🤔🎢🧘‍♀️

One thought on “*Disclaimer: I’m fine. We’re fine. Everything is fine.

Leave a comment